Go back to LondonMiddx   CrowdScores Logo
United Counties Football League
Member of the National League System
2007-2008 Season
Saturday, 17 March 2018
Club Information
Potton United

Year formed: 1943.
Ground: The Hollow, Biggleswade Road, Potton, Beds. Sg19 2LU. Tel: 01767-261100.
Directions: From Sandy take B1042 into Potton. Head towards town centre and take right turn towards Biggleswade (B1040). Ground on left hand side at foot of hill.
Chairman: John Shipp
Secretary: Mrs Bev Strong, 20 Berwick Way, Sandy, Beds. SG19 1TR. Tel/fax: 01767-692251. Mobile: 07703-442565. e-mail: bev.strong@tiscali.co.uk
Co-Managers: Jim Benton and Dean Chapman. Assistant: Adam Chapman. Coach: Kelvin Ash.
Programme editor: Bev Strong.
Website: www.clubwebsite.co.uk/pottonunitedfc
Colours: All blue; change colours: red and black

The club was formed in 1943 and won the Beds Intermediate Cup in the first season. After the war they joined the South Midlands League and were soon established as one of the county's leading lights winning the Senior cup in 1948 and 1949. After finishing as SML runners-up in 1955 they sought a higher standard of football but their application to join the Parthenon League was rejected. Potton faced a season without competitive football, but were admitted to play in the UCL Cup, which was played on a league basis in the second half of the season.

In 1956 Potton joined several UCL clubs in the Central Alliance Division One South, linking up again with theUCL five years later. Success was a long time coming before United won their first UCL title in 1987, they followed up with a return success two years later after a storming run in to the campaign.

Cup success has been much more plentiful. The Bedfordshire Senior Cup has been won on five occasions with the North Beds Charity Cup won twelve times. There have been four Hunts Premier Cup successes, four Hinchingbrooke Cup wins and a UCL Knockout Cup win in 1973. The Wallspan Floodlit Cup, Southern Combination Cup and East Anglian Cup have also had spells in residence at The Hollow.

In 2001 Potton lost their top flight status for the first time, but their 60th anniversary campaign, which kicked off with a celebration match against Rushden & Diamonds, ended with the Division One championship earning a Premier return.

Potton made a sensational return to the top flight, missing the title by two points but winning the League Knockout Cup, North Beds Charity Cup, Hinchingbrooke Cup and Highest Aggregate Goalscorers trophy. Managerial duo Dick Newman and Roy Bloxham were named the league managers of the year.

The 2005-06 season saw the Royals pipped at the post to the Premier title while retaining the North Beds Charity Cup, while a season later saw silverware prove elusive as the Royals finished runners-up in the Knockout and North Beds Charity Cups.
F.A. Cup
F.A. Vase
Bedfordshire FA Senior Cup
Huntingdonshire FA Premier Cup
Hinchingbrooke Cup
South Midlands Floodlit Cup
North Beds Charity Cup
League Cup
Premier Division
Bedfordshire FA Intermediate Cup
Biggleswade Knockout Cup
South Midlands Reserve Floodlit Cup
Reserve League Cup
Reserve Division Two
To remove highlight click on Clubs (top right hand corner)
  AFC Kempston Rovers
  Boston Town
  Bourne Town
  Buckingham Town
  Bugbrooke St Michaels
  Burton Park Wanderers
  Cogenhoe United
  Daventry Town
  Daventry United
  Deeping Rangers
  Desborough Town
  Eynesbury Rovers
  Holbeach United
  Huntingdon Town
  Irchester United
  Long Buckby
  Newport Pagnell Town
  Northampton ON Chenecks
  Northampton Sileby Rangers
  Northampton Spencer
  Olney Town
  Peterborough Northern Star
  Potton United
  Raunds Town
  Rothwell Corinthians
  Rushden & Higham United
  Sleaford Town
  St Ives Town
  St Neots Town
  Stewarts & Lloyds Corby
  Thrapston Town
  Wellingborough Town 2004
  Woodford United
  Wootton Blue Cross
  61 FC Luton
  AFC Clacton
  AFC Dunstable
  AFC Fletton
  AFC Totton
  Ampthill Town
  Appleby Frodingham
  Arlesey Athletic
  Aston Clinton
  Aylesbury Vale
  Banbury United
  Barton Rovers
  Barton Town OB
  Basildon United
  Beaconsfield Sycob
  Bective Wanderers
  Bedfont Green
  Bedford Town
  Belper Town
  Bicester Town
  Biggleswade Town
  Biggleswade United
  Blackfield & Langley
  Boreham Wood
  Bottesford Town
  Bowers & Pitsea
  Brackley Sports
  Brackley Town
  Brimsdown Rovers
  Broxbourne Borough V&E
  Bury Town
  Causeway United
  Chalfont St Peter
  Chesham United
  Christians in Sport
  Cold Ashby
  Coleshill Town
  Concord Rangers
  Corby Hellenic Fisher
  Corby Kingfisher
  Corby Madisons
  Corby Pegasus
  Corby Town
  Cornard United
  Cranfield United
  Crawley Green
  Crick Athletic
  Curzon Ashton
  Danesholme Vikings
  Deanshanger Athletic
  Debenham LC
  Deeping Sports
  Dereham Town
  Diss Town
  Downham Town
  Dunstable Town
  Earls Barton United
  Eaton Bray Sports & Social
  Eaton Socon
  Ely City
  Eton Manor
  Eye Sports & Social
  Fakenham Town
  Felixstowe & Walton United
  Finedon Volta
  Flackwell Heath
  Gedling Town
  Godmanchester Rovers
  Grantham Town
  Great Doddington
  Great Linford
  Great Paxton
  Halstead Town
  Hampton Athletic
  Hanwell Town
  Harefield United
  Harpenden Town
  Hartley Wintney
  Haverhill Rovers
  Heath Hayes
  Hemingford United
  Hertford Town
  Heybridge Swifts
  Heyford Athletic
  Hillingdon Borough
  Hoddesdon Town
  Holmer Green
  Hook Norton
  Hullbridge Sports
  Hungerford Town
  Huntingdon United RGE
  James King Blisworth
  Jubilee Bourne
  Kent Athletic
  Kettering Nomads
  Kettering Punjab United
  Kettering Town
  Kirkley & Pakefield
  Langtoft United
  Leighton Town
  Leverstock Green
  Lincoln Moorlands Railway
  London APSA
  London Colney
  Long Eaton United
  Long Melford
  Lowestoft Town
  March Town United
  Marlow United
  Mildenhall Town
  MK Scot
  Nantwich Town
  Needham Market
  Needingworth United
  Netherton United
  New Bradwell St Peter
  Newmarket Town
  North Greenford United
  Northampton Birchfield Rovers
  Northampton Blufish
  Northampton Broadmead Saints
  Northampton Crispin
  Northampton Diamonds
  Northampton Harlequins
  Northampton Tact
  Norton United
  Norwich United
  Oadby Town
  Oundle Town
  Oxhey Jets
  Peterborough Perkins
  Peterborough Silver Jubilee
  Peterborough Sports
  Peterborough United
  Priors Marston
  Queen Eleanor
  Racing Club Warwick
  Ramsey Town
  Ravensthorpe Athletic
  Renhold United
  Rothwell Town
  Royston Town
  Rugby Town
  Ruislip Manor
  Rushden & Diamonds
  Rutland Rangers
  Saffron Walden Town
  Sandhurst Town
  Sandy Town
  Sawbridgeworth Town
  Shawbury United
  Soham Town Rangers
  Somersham Town
  Spalding United
  St Johns
  St Margaretsbury
  Stamford Belvedere
  Stanway Rovers
  Stanwick Rovers
  Staveley MW
  Stony Stratford Town
  Stopsley Common sports
  Stratford Town
  Thetford Town
  Tiptree United
  Tonbridge Angels
  Tring Athletic
  Walsham le Willows
  Waltham Forest
  Walton Court Wanderers
  Warboys Town
  Welford Victoria
  Welwyn Garden City
  Werrington Town
  Whitefield Norpol
  Whitley Bay
  Whitton United
  Wicken Sports
  Winslow United
  Winterton Rangers
  Wisbech Town
  Witney United
  Wivenhoe Town
  Wollaston Victoria
  Woodbridge Town
  Woodford Ristee Towers
  Wootton St George
  Yardley Gobion
Contacts Search
M = map link available, W = website link available