Go back to LondonMiddx   CrowdScores Logo
United Counties Football League
Member of the National League System
2007-2008 Season
Monday, 19 February 2018
Club Information
Northampton Sileby Rangers

Year formed: 1968.
Ground: Fernie Fields Sportsground, Moulton, Northampton, NN3 7BD. Tel: 01604-670366.
Directions: Approach from A43 Kettering. From large rounfabout with traffic lights, take 4th exit to town centre. At first roundabout turn right into Moulton Way then 1st right at sign to Fernie Fields, turn left and follow road to ground. Approach from A45 take A43 exit to ring road/Kettering/Corby. Go straight over first roundabout to large roundabout with traffic lights. Take first exit to town centre and follow directions as above.
Chairman: Rob Clarke.
Secretary: Dave Battams, 15 Vincent Close, St Giles Park, Northampton NN5 6YA. Tel: 01604-617326. Mobile: 07913-909068. e-mail: david@djbattams.f2s.com
Manager: Gary Petts. Assistant: Danny Mackintosh.
Programme editor: Dave Battams
Colours: Red and black; change colours: yellow and navy.

The club was founded in 1968 as the works team of the Sileby Engineering Company. Rangers initially played as a Sunday club and made rapid progress through the Sunday Alliance divisions, becoming one of the county's leading clubs. The NFA Sunday Cup was won in 1975 while Rangers were beaten finalists in 1973, 1979, 1983 and 1993.

The club branched into Saturday football in the mid eighties joining the Northampton Town League. They won back to back championships in 1989 and 1990 and were runners up in 1991 and 1993 by which time the club had changed its' name to Vanaid as part of a sponsorship arrangement. The club also won the Gorell Barnes club and reached the Northants Junior Cup final in 1987, losing to the Irthlingborough Diamonds second string.

The introduction of the UCL Pyramid paved the way for the club to progress and a site at Fernie Fields Moulton was obtained and developed into a UCL standard ground. Second place in the Town League in 1993 earned Vanaid a Division One place as they became the first club to graduate from the junior pyramid.

Under the management of former Cobblers chairman Dick Underwood Vanaid made a huge impact in the UCL winning the Division One title and adding the Northants Junior Cup for the first time, beating ON Chenecks by the only goal at the County Ground. Vanaid also reached the Benevolent Cup final and claimed two Premier scalps in the Knockout Cup, but with planning permission for floodlights denied they were unable to move up to the top flight.

The Junior Cup was won for a second time in 1997. Three years later the club reverted to the Sileby Rangers name but on field fortunes plummeted as they finished next to bottom. That downturn was a blip as Sileby beat Rothwell Corinthians in successive Junior Cup finals in 2002 and 2003, winning the Division One title for a second time in the latter campaign.

The club's long running floodlight saga has finally ended in 2004 with the facility installed over the summer. Rangers went on to win their third Division One title, heading Whitworths on goal difference, but withdrew their promotion application at season's end.
F.A. Vase
Northamptonshire FA Junior Cup
League Cup
Division One
Reserve League Cup
Reserve Division One
To remove highlight click on Clubs (top right hand corner)
  AFC Kempston Rovers
  Boston Town
  Bourne Town
  Buckingham Town
  Bugbrooke St Michaels
  Burton Park Wanderers
  Cogenhoe United
  Daventry Town
  Daventry United
  Deeping Rangers
  Desborough Town
  Eynesbury Rovers
  Holbeach United
  Huntingdon Town
  Irchester United
  Long Buckby
  Newport Pagnell Town
  Northampton ON Chenecks
  Northampton Sileby Rangers
  Northampton Spencer
  Olney Town
  Peterborough Northern Star
  Potton United
  Raunds Town
  Rothwell Corinthians
  Rushden & Higham United
  Sleaford Town
  St Ives Town
  St Neots Town
  Stewarts & Lloyds Corby
  Thrapston Town
  Wellingborough Town 2004
  Woodford United
  Wootton Blue Cross
  61 FC Luton
  AFC Clacton
  AFC Dunstable
  AFC Fletton
  AFC Totton
  Ampthill Town
  Appleby Frodingham
  Arlesey Athletic
  Aston Clinton
  Aylesbury Vale
  Banbury United
  Barton Rovers
  Barton Town OB
  Basildon United
  Beaconsfield Sycob
  Bective Wanderers
  Bedfont Green
  Bedford Town
  Belper Town
  Bicester Town
  Biggleswade Town
  Biggleswade United
  Blackfield & Langley
  Boreham Wood
  Bottesford Town
  Bowers & Pitsea
  Brackley Sports
  Brackley Town
  Brimsdown Rovers
  Broxbourne Borough V&E
  Bury Town
  Causeway United
  Chalfont St Peter
  Chesham United
  Christians in Sport
  Cold Ashby
  Coleshill Town
  Concord Rangers
  Corby Hellenic Fisher
  Corby Kingfisher
  Corby Madisons
  Corby Pegasus
  Corby Town
  Cornard United
  Cranfield United
  Crawley Green
  Crick Athletic
  Curzon Ashton
  Danesholme Vikings
  Deanshanger Athletic
  Debenham LC
  Deeping Sports
  Dereham Town
  Diss Town
  Downham Town
  Dunstable Town
  Earls Barton United
  Eaton Bray Sports & Social
  Eaton Socon
  Ely City
  Eton Manor
  Eye Sports & Social
  Fakenham Town
  Felixstowe & Walton United
  Finedon Volta
  Flackwell Heath
  Gedling Town
  Godmanchester Rovers
  Grantham Town
  Great Doddington
  Great Linford
  Great Paxton
  Halstead Town
  Hampton Athletic
  Hanwell Town
  Harefield United
  Harpenden Town
  Hartley Wintney
  Haverhill Rovers
  Heath Hayes
  Hemingford United
  Hertford Town
  Heybridge Swifts
  Heyford Athletic
  Hillingdon Borough
  Hoddesdon Town
  Holmer Green
  Hook Norton
  Hullbridge Sports
  Hungerford Town
  Huntingdon United RGE
  James King Blisworth
  Jubilee Bourne
  Kent Athletic
  Kettering Nomads
  Kettering Punjab United
  Kettering Town
  Kirkley & Pakefield
  Langtoft United
  Leighton Town
  Leverstock Green
  Lincoln Moorlands Railway
  London APSA
  London Colney
  Long Eaton United
  Long Melford
  Lowestoft Town
  March Town United
  Marlow United
  Mildenhall Town
  MK Scot
  Nantwich Town
  Needham Market
  Needingworth United
  Netherton United
  New Bradwell St Peter
  Newmarket Town
  North Greenford United
  Northampton Birchfield Rovers
  Northampton Blufish
  Northampton Broadmead Saints
  Northampton Crispin
  Northampton Diamonds
  Northampton Harlequins
  Northampton Tact
  Norton United
  Norwich United
  Oadby Town
  Oundle Town
  Oxhey Jets
  Peterborough Perkins
  Peterborough Silver Jubilee
  Peterborough Sports
  Peterborough United
  Priors Marston
  Queen Eleanor
  Racing Club Warwick
  Ramsey Town
  Ravensthorpe Athletic
  Renhold United
  Rothwell Town
  Royston Town
  Rugby Town
  Ruislip Manor
  Rushden & Diamonds
  Rutland Rangers
  Saffron Walden Town
  Sandhurst Town
  Sandy Town
  Sawbridgeworth Town
  Shawbury United
  Soham Town Rangers
  Somersham Town
  Spalding United
  St Johns
  St Margaretsbury
  Stamford Belvedere
  Stanway Rovers
  Stanwick Rovers
  Staveley MW
  Stony Stratford Town
  Stopsley Common sports
  Stratford Town
  Thetford Town
  Tiptree United
  Tonbridge Angels
  Tring Athletic
  Walsham le Willows
  Waltham Forest
  Walton Court Wanderers
  Warboys Town
  Welford Victoria
  Welwyn Garden City
  Werrington Town
  Whitefield Norpol
  Whitley Bay
  Whitton United
  Wicken Sports
  Winslow United
  Winterton Rangers
  Wisbech Town
  Witney United
  Wivenhoe Town
  Wollaston Victoria
  Woodbridge Town
  Woodford Ristee Towers
  Wootton St George
  Yardley Gobion
Contacts Search
M = map link available, W = website link available