Go back to LondonMiddx   CrowdScores Logo Appstore Link Google Play Link
United Counties Football League
Member of the National League System
2007-2008 Season
Wednesday, 25 April 2018
Club Information
AFC Kempston Rovers

Year formed: 1884.
Ground: Hillgrounds Leisure, Hillgrounds Road, Kempston. Tel: 01234-852346. Fax: 01234-843460.
Directions: Take A421 Bedford bypass turning to Kempston onto A5140 Woburn Road. At roundabout turn left into St Johns Street then right into Bedford Road. After shops and park on left, turn immediately left into Hillgrounds Road. Ground is past swimming pool on right hand side.
Chairman: Russell Shreeves
Secretary: Kevin Howlett, 53 Silverdale Street, Kempston, Bedford. MK42 8BE. Tel: 01234-852056. Fax: 01234-843460. Mobile: 07721-849671 . e-mail: howlett.home@btinternet.com
Manager: Neil Trebble. Coach: Clive Black.
Match secretary/Programme editor: Mark Kennett, 12d St Michaels Road, Bedford. MK40 2LT. Tel: 01234-400835 (h), 07963-660653 (m); e-mail: markkennett@hotmail.com .


Colours: Red, white and black; change colours: Blue and black or white and red.

Kempston Rovers were formed in 1884 and their first league competition was the Bedford & District League. Their first league championship was won in 1908 and twelve month later Rovers retained the title while also carrying off the Bedfordshire Senior Cup and North Beds Charity Cup.

Kempston joined the South Midlands League in 1927, and while league honours eluded them they continued to enjoy cup success, winning the Senior Cup for a second time in 1938 and winning the Hinchingbrooke Cup in 1926, 1928 and 1932.

The Walnut Boys joined the United Counties League in 1953 and fortunes took an upturn. After winning the Second Division League and cup double in 1955, Kempston continued to enjoy success as the competition reverted to a single division. They were champions in 1958 and runners-up in 1957 and 1960, while in the Knockout Cup they contested five successive finals between 1957 and 1961, winning the trophy in 1958 and 1960.

When the league returned to a two division format a lack of facilities saw Kempston placed in Division Two. They upgraded the Hillgrounds facilities but after being readmitted to the top flight they suffered instant relegation in 1963 with just five points to their name. A top division place was regained in 1968 after Rovers finished Second Division runners-up.

1973 saw the start of a new era as Kempston relocated to a new ground further down Hillgrounds Road. A magnificent season saw the Walnut Boys storm to the Premier title losing only once in 32 games. A golden period in the club's history saw League Cup successes in 1975 and 1977, the Beds Senior Cup was again captured in 1977 while the Walnut Boys reached the last 16 of the FA Vase in 1975.

The club nearly folded in the early eighties and were relegated in 1983, but they bounced back to the top flight in 1986 before moving to their current ground, their third in the same road.

Kempston won the Beds Senior Cup in 1992 and the Hunts Premier Cup and North Beds Charity Cup in 2000 before suffering a fourth relegation from the top flight in 2003.

The 2005-06 season saw the ground undergo a series of improvements and the opening of an all weather surface. The following campaign saw the Walnut Boys finish third in Division One and return to the top flight.
F.A. Vase
Bedfordshire FA Senior Cup
Hinchingbrooke Cup
League Cup
Premier Division
Bedfordshire FA Intermediate Cup
Reserve League Cup
Reserve Division Two
To remove highlight click on Clubs (top right hand corner)
  AFC Kempston Rovers
  Boston Town
  Bourne Town
  Buckingham Town
  Bugbrooke St Michaels
  Burton Park Wanderers
  Cogenhoe United
  Daventry Town
  Daventry United
  Deeping Rangers
  Desborough Town
  Eynesbury Rovers
  Holbeach United
  Huntingdon Town
  Irchester United
  Long Buckby
  Newport Pagnell Town
  Northampton ON Chenecks
  Northampton Sileby Rangers
  Northampton Spencer
  Olney Town
  Peterborough Northern Star
  Potton United
  Raunds Town
  Rothwell Corinthians
  Rushden & Higham United
  Sleaford Town
  St Ives Town
  St Neots Town
  Stewarts & Lloyds Corby
  Thrapston Town
  Wellingborough Town 2004
  Woodford United
  Wootton Blue Cross
  61 FC Luton
  AFC Clacton
  AFC Dunstable
  AFC Fletton
  AFC Totton
  Ampthill Town
  Appleby Frodingham
  Arlesey Athletic
  Aston Clinton
  Aylesbury Vale
  Banbury United
  Barton Rovers
  Barton Town OB
  Basildon United
  Beaconsfield Sycob
  Bective Wanderers
  Bedfont Green
  Bedford Town
  Belper Town
  Bicester Town
  Biggleswade Town
  Biggleswade United
  Blackfield & Langley
  Boreham Wood
  Bottesford Town
  Bowers & Pitsea
  Brackley Sports
  Brackley Town
  Brimsdown Rovers
  Broxbourne Borough V&E
  Bury Town
  Causeway United
  Chalfont St Peter
  Chesham United
  Christians in Sport
  Cold Ashby
  Coleshill Town
  Concord Rangers
  Corby Hellenic Fisher
  Corby Kingfisher
  Corby Madisons
  Corby Pegasus
  Corby Town
  Cornard United
  Cranfield United
  Crawley Green
  Crick Athletic
  Curzon Ashton
  Danesholme Vikings
  Deanshanger Athletic
  Debenham LC
  Deeping Sports
  Dereham Town
  Diss Town
  Downham Town
  Dunstable Town
  Earls Barton United
  Eaton Bray Sports & Social
  Eaton Socon
  Ely City
  Eton Manor
  Eye Sports & Social
  Fakenham Town
  Felixstowe & Walton United
  Finedon Volta
  Flackwell Heath
  Gedling Town
  Godmanchester Rovers
  Grantham Town
  Great Doddington
  Great Linford
  Great Paxton
  Halstead Town
  Hampton Athletic
  Hanwell Town
  Harefield United
  Harpenden Town
  Hartley Wintney
  Haverhill Rovers
  Heath Hayes
  Hemingford United
  Hertford Town
  Heybridge Swifts
  Heyford Athletic
  Hillingdon Borough
  Hoddesdon Town
  Holmer Green
  Hook Norton
  Hullbridge Sports
  Hungerford Town
  Huntingdon United RGE
  James King Blisworth
  Jubilee Bourne
  Kent Athletic
  Kettering Nomads
  Kettering Punjab United
  Kettering Town
  Kirkley & Pakefield
  Langtoft United
  Leighton Town
  Leverstock Green
  Lincoln Moorlands Railway
  London APSA
  London Colney
  Long Eaton United
  Long Melford
  Lowestoft Town
  March Town United
  Marlow United
  Mildenhall Town
  MK Scot
  Nantwich Town
  Needham Market
  Needingworth United
  Netherton United
  New Bradwell St Peter
  Newmarket Town
  North Greenford United
  Northampton Birchfield Rovers
  Northampton Blufish
  Northampton Broadmead Saints
  Northampton Crispin
  Northampton Diamonds
  Northampton Harlequins
  Northampton Tact
  Norton United
  Norwich United
  Oadby Town
  Oundle Town
  Oxhey Jets
  Peterborough Perkins
  Peterborough Silver Jubilee
  Peterborough Sports
  Peterborough United
  Priors Marston
  Queen Eleanor
  Racing Club Warwick
  Ramsey Town
  Ravensthorpe Athletic
  Renhold United
  Rothwell Town
  Royston Town
  Rugby Town
  Ruislip Manor
  Rushden & Diamonds
  Rutland Rangers
  Saffron Walden Town
  Sandhurst Town
  Sandy Town
  Sawbridgeworth Town
  Shawbury United
  Soham Town Rangers
  Somersham Town
  Spalding United
  St Johns
  St Margaretsbury
  Stamford Belvedere
  Stanway Rovers
  Stanwick Rovers
  Staveley MW
  Stony Stratford Town
  Stopsley Common sports
  Stratford Town
  Thetford Town
  Tiptree United
  Tonbridge Angels
  Tring Athletic
  Walsham le Willows
  Waltham Forest
  Walton Court Wanderers
  Warboys Town
  Welford Victoria
  Welwyn Garden City
  Werrington Town
  Whitefield Norpol
  Whitley Bay
  Whitton United
  Wicken Sports
  Winslow United
  Winterton Rangers
  Wisbech Town
  Witney United
  Wivenhoe Town
  Wollaston Victoria
  Woodbridge Town
  Woodford Ristee Towers
  Wootton St George
  Yardley Gobion
Contacts Search
M = map link available, W = website link available