Go back to LondonMiddx   CrowdScores Logo
United Counties Football League
Member of the National League System
2007-2008 Season
Tuesday, 20 February 2018
Club Information
Bugbrooke St Michaels


Year formed: 1929.
Ground: Birds Close, Gayton Road, Bugbrooke, Northampton NN7 3PH. Tel: 01604-830707.
Directions: At M1 junction 16 take A45 ro Northampton. At first roundabout follow signs to Bugbrooke. Go straight through village, ground entrance immediately past last house on left.
Chairman: Bill Preston
Secretary: Sharon Macgowan, 30 Samwell Way, Banbury Lane, Northampton NN4 9QJ. Tel: 01604-590313. Fax: 01604-581452. e-mail: neil-macgowan@dial.pipex.com
Manager: Adam Turnbull
Programme editor: Debbie Preston, 6 Witham Green, Northampton. NN5 7JQ. e-mail: billdebbiepreston@hotmail.com
Website: www.bsmfc.co.uk
Colours: Yellow and blue; change colours: black and white.

The current Bugbrooke St Michaels club was formed in 1929 after the village's original club was suspended by the Northants FA. They played on land behind the village primary school which became known as School Close, remaining on this site to the 70s.
Success came quickly and Bugbrooke set a record by winning five successive championships in the Central Village League from 1933 to 1937. The South Northants Medals competition was won in 1936 and 1937 while Bugbrooke lost the Northants Junior Cup final to Woodford in 1937.
In the early post war years the Badgers were champions in 1948 and 1949 and were also runners up in the Northants Lower Junior Cup with a team of local players. There were successes in the Area Cup in 1952 and 1954 but the heights of yesteryear were not repeated for a few years as fortunes declined.
The mid 50s saw a revival as Bugbrooke landed the Towcester Charity Cup in 1955, Lower Junior Cup in 1956 and Daventry Charity Cup in 1958.
Success in the CNC Cup and Byfield & Bethel Charity Cup in 1967 was a prelude to a run of spectacular success. From 1969 to 1972 they won four successive Combination titles, a hat trick of Cup wins, two further successes in the Byfield & Bethel and were Lower Junior Cup runners up.
The club left School Close in 1970 and played at Campion School for five years before an enforced relocation to the village playing fields. There were successes in the CNC in 1977 and 1986 and a Northants Lower Junior win in 1977. The club had ambitions of UCL football and acquired a plot of land adjacent to the playing fields which was gradually developed with impressive facilities.
The club joined the UCL in 1987 with floodlights the last stage of the facility upgrade at Birds Close. On the field success proved elusive until the Northants Junior Cup was won in 1992 under the management of Keith Piercewright and Jeff Buck. Gordon Higgins and Nick Verity both had spells at the helm but narrowly failed to win promotion which was finally achieved in 1999 with Chris Goodchild in charge. A double narrowly eluded the Badgers as they lost to Thrapston in the Junior Cup final on penalties.
Premier football brought the club a place in the FA Cup and FA Vase for the first time, but they were relegated in 2002.
F.A. Vase
Northamptonshire FA Junior Cup
League Cup
Division One
Northamptonshire FA Lower Junior Cup
Reserve League Cup
Reserve Division One
To remove highlight click on Clubs (top right hand corner)
  AFC Kempston Rovers
  Boston Town
  Bourne Town
  Buckingham Town
  Bugbrooke St Michaels
  Burton Park Wanderers
  Cogenhoe United
  Daventry Town
  Daventry United
  Deeping Rangers
  Desborough Town
  Eynesbury Rovers
  Holbeach United
  Huntingdon Town
  Irchester United
  Long Buckby
  Newport Pagnell Town
  Northampton ON Chenecks
  Northampton Sileby Rangers
  Northampton Spencer
  Olney Town
  Peterborough Northern Star
  Potton United
  Raunds Town
  Rothwell Corinthians
  Rushden & Higham United
  Sleaford Town
  St Ives Town
  St Neots Town
  Stewarts & Lloyds Corby
  Thrapston Town
  Wellingborough Town 2004
  Woodford United
  Wootton Blue Cross
  61 FC Luton
  AFC Clacton
  AFC Dunstable
  AFC Fletton
  AFC Totton
  Ampthill Town
  Appleby Frodingham
  Arlesey Athletic
  Aston Clinton
  Aylesbury Vale
  Banbury United
  Barton Rovers
  Barton Town OB
  Basildon United
  Beaconsfield Sycob
  Bective Wanderers
  Bedfont Green
  Bedford Town
  Belper Town
  Bicester Town
  Biggleswade Town
  Biggleswade United
  Blackfield & Langley
  Boreham Wood
  Bottesford Town
  Bowers & Pitsea
  Brackley Sports
  Brackley Town
  Brimsdown Rovers
  Broxbourne Borough V&E
  Bury Town
  Causeway United
  Chalfont St Peter
  Chesham United
  Christians in Sport
  Cold Ashby
  Coleshill Town
  Concord Rangers
  Corby Hellenic Fisher
  Corby Kingfisher
  Corby Madisons
  Corby Pegasus
  Corby Town
  Cornard United
  Cranfield United
  Crawley Green
  Crick Athletic
  Curzon Ashton
  Danesholme Vikings
  Deanshanger Athletic
  Debenham LC
  Deeping Sports
  Dereham Town
  Diss Town
  Downham Town
  Dunstable Town
  Earls Barton United
  Eaton Bray Sports & Social
  Eaton Socon
  Ely City
  Eton Manor
  Eye Sports & Social
  Fakenham Town
  Felixstowe & Walton United
  Finedon Volta
  Flackwell Heath
  Gedling Town
  Godmanchester Rovers
  Grantham Town
  Great Doddington
  Great Linford
  Great Paxton
  Halstead Town
  Hampton Athletic
  Hanwell Town
  Harefield United
  Harpenden Town
  Hartley Wintney
  Haverhill Rovers
  Heath Hayes
  Hemingford United
  Hertford Town
  Heybridge Swifts
  Heyford Athletic
  Hillingdon Borough
  Hoddesdon Town
  Holmer Green
  Hook Norton
  Hullbridge Sports
  Hungerford Town
  Huntingdon United RGE
  James King Blisworth
  Jubilee Bourne
  Kent Athletic
  Kettering Nomads
  Kettering Punjab United
  Kettering Town
  Kirkley & Pakefield
  Langtoft United
  Leighton Town
  Leverstock Green
  Lincoln Moorlands Railway
  London APSA
  London Colney
  Long Eaton United
  Long Melford
  Lowestoft Town
  March Town United
  Marlow United
  Mildenhall Town
  MK Scot
  Nantwich Town
  Needham Market
  Needingworth United
  Netherton United
  New Bradwell St Peter
  Newmarket Town
  North Greenford United
  Northampton Birchfield Rovers
  Northampton Blufish
  Northampton Broadmead Saints
  Northampton Crispin
  Northampton Diamonds
  Northampton Harlequins
  Northampton Tact
  Norton United
  Norwich United
  Oadby Town
  Oundle Town
  Oxhey Jets
  Peterborough Perkins
  Peterborough Silver Jubilee
  Peterborough Sports
  Peterborough United
  Priors Marston
  Queen Eleanor
  Racing Club Warwick
  Ramsey Town
  Ravensthorpe Athletic
  Renhold United
  Rothwell Town
  Royston Town
  Rugby Town
  Ruislip Manor
  Rushden & Diamonds
  Rutland Rangers
  Saffron Walden Town
  Sandhurst Town
  Sandy Town
  Sawbridgeworth Town
  Shawbury United
  Soham Town Rangers
  Somersham Town
  Spalding United
  St Johns
  St Margaretsbury
  Stamford Belvedere
  Stanway Rovers
  Stanwick Rovers
  Staveley MW
  Stony Stratford Town
  Stopsley Common sports
  Stratford Town
  Thetford Town
  Tiptree United
  Tonbridge Angels
  Tring Athletic
  Walsham le Willows
  Waltham Forest
  Walton Court Wanderers
  Warboys Town
  Welford Victoria
  Welwyn Garden City
  Werrington Town
  Whitefield Norpol
  Whitley Bay
  Whitton United
  Wicken Sports
  Winslow United
  Winterton Rangers
  Wisbech Town
  Witney United
  Wivenhoe Town
  Wollaston Victoria
  Woodbridge Town
  Woodford Ristee Towers
  Wootton St George
  Yardley Gobion
Contacts Search
M = map link available, W = website link available