Go back to LondonMiddx   CrowdScores Logo Appstore Link Google Play Link
United Counties Football League
Member of the National League System
2007-2008 Season
Monday, 21 May 2018
Club Information
Buckingham Town

Ground: Ford Meadow, Ford Street, Buckingham. Tel/fax: 01280-816257.
Directions: A421 ring road to Tesco roundabout. Turn right down hill towards town centre. Take slip road between Ford garage and New Inn public house.
Chairman: Tony Rosenberg
Secretary: Brian Maycock, 31 Westfield, Buckingham. MK18 1DZ. Tel: (h) 01280-815529; (m) 07881-970453.
Manager: Tony Joyce. Assistant: Stuart Blaik.

Programme editor: Carl Waine, 21 Moreton Drive, Buckingham. Mk18 1JG Tel: 01280-817194. e-mail: carl.waine@btinternet.com.
Website: www.bt-fc.co.uk

Buckingham Town FC was founded in 1883 with the first recorded match against Banbury. The club has played at Ford Meadow throughout its long history. Most of the club's early years were spent in junior football, and success was plentiful with the Aylesbury & District League won on three occasions and eight North Bucks League titles collected between 1925 and 1950. The Robins also won the Berks & Bucks Junior Cup in 1903 and 1949.
Buckingham were founder members of the Hellenic League in 1953 but they returned to junior football after four years. The Robins joined the South Midlands League in 1971 and switched to the UCL in 1974. Back to back promotions were achieved under the management of Mike Henson, and the Robins took their place in the Premier Division in 1976.
The club's centenary season proved to be the most successful in the club's history. Newly appointed manager Gary Knibbs led his side to the Premier title, Knockout Cup, Buckingham Charity Cup and Berks & Bucks Senior Cup - the only occasion it was ever won by a UCL club.
Buckingham celebrated their first 100 years with a match against Leicester City and the 1984-85 campaign proved another memorable one as the Robins reached the FA Cup 1st Round, losing 2-0 to Orient in front of a record Ford Meadow crowd of 2,451. The UCL title was regained in 1986 on the back of a record 24 match unbeaten run and the Robins embarked on a new adventure in the Southern League.
The Robins suffered from their location in the Southern League, being shifted between divisions to balance the numbers, but they enjoyed their share of success, winning the Southern Division in 1991 under Phil Lines's management. The Ford Meadow facilities were not up to Premier standards so there was no place in the Premier for the Robins. Buckingham twice reached the last eight of the FA Vase in 1989 and 1993, but thereafter fortunes declined and the Robins were relegated back to the UCL in 1997.
In 1999 the Robins were Knockout Cup runners up but twelve months later they narrowly avoided relegation after one of their worst ever seasons. Morrell Maison had hauled the Robins off the foot of the table after his late season appointment and steady progress was been made in the next four years culminating in 2003-04's second place finish and a place in the Berks & Bucks Senior Trophy final.
After Maison's departure to Kettering the Robins' fortunes waned and in 2007 they were relegated to Division One after finishing at the foot of the Premier Division.

Colours: All red; change colours: all white or yellow and black
F.A. Cup
F.A. Vase
Berks & Bucks FA Intermediate Cup
Buckingham Charity Cup
League Cup
Division One
Reserve League Cup
Reserve Division Two
To remove highlight click on Clubs (top right hand corner)
  AFC Kempston Rovers
  Boston Town
  Bourne Town
  Buckingham Town
  Bugbrooke St Michaels
  Burton Park Wanderers
  Cogenhoe United
  Daventry Town
  Daventry United
  Deeping Rangers
  Desborough Town
  Eynesbury Rovers
  Holbeach United
  Huntingdon Town
  Irchester United
  Long Buckby
  Newport Pagnell Town
  Northampton ON Chenecks
  Northampton Sileby Rangers
  Northampton Spencer
  Olney Town
  Peterborough Northern Star
  Potton United
  Raunds Town
  Rothwell Corinthians
  Rushden & Higham United
  Sleaford Town
  St Ives Town
  St Neots Town
  Stewarts & Lloyds Corby
  Thrapston Town
  Wellingborough Town 2004
  Woodford United
  Wootton Blue Cross
  61 FC Luton
  AFC Clacton
  AFC Dunstable
  AFC Fletton
  AFC Totton
  Ampthill Town
  Appleby Frodingham
  Arlesey Athletic
  Aston Clinton
  Aylesbury Vale
  Banbury United
  Barton Rovers
  Barton Town OB
  Basildon United
  Beaconsfield Sycob
  Bective Wanderers
  Bedfont Green
  Bedford Town
  Belper Town
  Bicester Town
  Biggleswade Town
  Biggleswade United
  Blackfield & Langley
  Boreham Wood
  Bottesford Town
  Bowers & Pitsea
  Brackley Sports
  Brackley Town
  Brimsdown Rovers
  Broxbourne Borough V&E
  Bury Town
  Causeway United
  Chalfont St Peter
  Chesham United
  Christians in Sport
  Cold Ashby
  Coleshill Town
  Concord Rangers
  Corby Hellenic Fisher
  Corby Kingfisher
  Corby Madisons
  Corby Pegasus
  Corby Town
  Cornard United
  Cranfield United
  Crawley Green
  Crick Athletic
  Curzon Ashton
  Danesholme Vikings
  Deanshanger Athletic
  Debenham LC
  Deeping Sports
  Dereham Town
  Diss Town
  Downham Town
  Dunstable Town
  Earls Barton United
  Eaton Bray Sports & Social
  Eaton Socon
  Ely City
  Eton Manor
  Eye Sports & Social
  Fakenham Town
  Felixstowe & Walton United
  Finedon Volta
  Flackwell Heath
  Gedling Town
  Godmanchester Rovers
  Grantham Town
  Great Doddington
  Great Linford
  Great Paxton
  Halstead Town
  Hampton Athletic
  Hanwell Town
  Harefield United
  Harpenden Town
  Hartley Wintney
  Haverhill Rovers
  Heath Hayes
  Hemingford United
  Hertford Town
  Heybridge Swifts
  Heyford Athletic
  Hillingdon Borough
  Hoddesdon Town
  Holmer Green
  Hook Norton
  Hullbridge Sports
  Hungerford Town
  Huntingdon United RGE
  James King Blisworth
  Jubilee Bourne
  Kent Athletic
  Kettering Nomads
  Kettering Punjab United
  Kettering Town
  Kirkley & Pakefield
  Langtoft United
  Leighton Town
  Leverstock Green
  Lincoln Moorlands Railway
  London APSA
  London Colney
  Long Eaton United
  Long Melford
  Lowestoft Town
  March Town United
  Marlow United
  Mildenhall Town
  MK Scot
  Nantwich Town
  Needham Market
  Needingworth United
  Netherton United
  New Bradwell St Peter
  Newmarket Town
  North Greenford United
  Northampton Birchfield Rovers
  Northampton Blufish
  Northampton Broadmead Saints
  Northampton Crispin
  Northampton Diamonds
  Northampton Harlequins
  Northampton Tact
  Norton United
  Norwich United
  Oadby Town
  Oundle Town
  Oxhey Jets
  Peterborough Perkins
  Peterborough Silver Jubilee
  Peterborough Sports
  Peterborough United
  Priors Marston
  Queen Eleanor
  Racing Club Warwick
  Ramsey Town
  Ravensthorpe Athletic
  Renhold United
  Rothwell Town
  Royston Town
  Rugby Town
  Ruislip Manor
  Rushden & Diamonds
  Rutland Rangers
  Saffron Walden Town
  Sandhurst Town
  Sandy Town
  Sawbridgeworth Town
  Shawbury United
  Soham Town Rangers
  Somersham Town
  Spalding United
  St Johns
  St Margaretsbury
  Stamford Belvedere
  Stanway Rovers
  Stanwick Rovers
  Staveley MW
  Stony Stratford Town
  Stopsley Common sports
  Stratford Town
  Thetford Town
  Tiptree United
  Tonbridge Angels
  Tring Athletic
  Walsham le Willows
  Waltham Forest
  Walton Court Wanderers
  Warboys Town
  Welford Victoria
  Welwyn Garden City
  Werrington Town
  Whitefield Norpol
  Whitley Bay
  Whitton United
  Wicken Sports
  Winslow United
  Winterton Rangers
  Wisbech Town
  Witney United
  Wivenhoe Town
  Wollaston Victoria
  Woodbridge Town
  Woodford Ristee Towers
  Wootton St George
  Yardley Gobion
Contacts Search
M = map link available, W = website link available